iSpeak Blog

2020 Roger F. Sherwood Article of the Year Award Finalists Announced

Roger F. Sherwood Article of the Year Award logo

Pharmaceutical Engineering® is delighted to announce the finalists for the 2020 Roger F. Sherwood Article of the Year Award. The articles were selected by the judges from 35 feature and technical articles published in PE during calendar year 2020 (Volume 40).

The winner of the 2020 award will be announced shortly, and authors of the winning 2020 article will be recognized at the upcoming 2021 ISPE Annual Meeting & Expo in Boston.

(PE recently announced the finalists and winner of the 2019 Article of the Year Award—those announcements were delayed until this year due to the pandemic.)

About the Award

ISPE’s Roger F. Sherwood Article of the Year award was established in 1993 to increase Pharmaceutical Engineering article submissions and improve the quality of those received. In the early years, judges rated each issue's technical articles against a set of six criteria, then selected an annual winner.

Almost three decades later, while recognizing the merit of the original intent, the award has been refreshed to showcase the best content in Pharmaceutical Engineering, increase industry recognition, highlight ISPE’s reputation as a global knowledge leader, and bolster magazine content quality.

Although various judges have taken part in assessing articles over the years, one constant remains: recognition of quality and excellence in content through identifying finalists and a single winning article for each publication year.

“Pharmaceutical Engineering is pleased to acknowledge the articles and authors who contributed to the 2020 magazine, the 40th year of publication for Pharmaceutical Engineering,” said Susan Sandler, Senior Director, Editorial. “The contributions from 2020 are of great value to ISPE and to the industry.” She added that “it is wonderful to have the opportunity to recognize the 2020 finalists alongside our recent announcements of the 2019 finalists and winner.” Because the 2019 awards were delayed until this year because of the pandemic, the winners of both the 2019 and 2020 awards will be celebrated at the Annual Meeting.

2020 Judging

A subcommittee of the Pharmaceutical Engineering Committee (PEC) served as judges for the 2020 award competition, reviewing articles and providing assessments on the following criteria: usefulness to ISPE readers; how the articles improve the knowledge of key topics; and clarity/ease of reading.

The PEC subcommittee was headed by Michelle Gonzalez. Thank you to Michelle and the PEC subcommittee for the work on the 2020 competition.

2020 Award Finalists

Congratulations to all finalists!

Seeking Future Finalists

Submissions to Pharmaceutical Engineering are always welcome, and published features and technical articles could become finalists for a future Article of the Year award!

For information about how to submit, go to Submit an Article.