International Board of Directors

2022-2023 ISPE International Board of Directors

The Board is responsible for the governance and strategic direction of the Society. The following pharmaceutical industry leaders have been elected to positions on the 2022–2023 ISPE International Board of Directors:


Michael L. Rutherford
Executive Director, Computer Systems Quality & Data Integrity
Syneos Health
Scott W. Billman
Vice President, Engineering, Pharmaceutical Services
Thermo Fisher Scientific
Vice Chair
Jeffrey A. Biskup, PE
Executive Board Chairman/Co-Founder
Vivianne J. Arencibia
Vice President, Global Quality Systems and Compliance
Jörg Zimmermann
Vice President Vetter Development Service External Affairs
Vetter Pharma Fertigung GmbH & Co KG
Past Chair
Thomas B. Hartman
President and CEO
Ex Officio Non-voting Member


Nina S. Cauchon, PhD
Director Regulatory Affairs - CMC
Amgen Inc.
David Churchward
Global Head Sterility Assurance, Cell and Gene Technologies
Lonza Biologics
Board Appointed Director
Norman A. Goldschmidt
Genesis AEC
Ylva Ek
Robur Life Science Advisory AB
Sarah C. Pope Miksinski, PhD
Executive Director, CMC Regulatory Affairs
Gilead Sciences, Inc.
Teresa Minero
Founder & CEO
LifeBee - Digitalizing Life Sciences
Georg Singewald, PhD
SVP, Global Head of Engineering, Technology & Sustainability
Roche / Genentech
Hirofumi Suzuki, PhD
Product Supply Japan, Head of Product Supply Coordination
Bayer Yakuhin Ltd.
Timothy J.N. Watson, PhD
Vice President – Head of CMC Regulatory Affairs
Gilead Sciences

Ex Officio

Zen-Zen Yen
Head of Engineering
Bayer AG
Board Emerging Leaders Representative (Non-voting)

2022 International Board of Directors Election Results

The ISPE International Board of Directors 2022 Election has concluded and the results are in. The leadership transition between the 2021 - 2022 Board and the 2022 - 2023 Board will take place during the 2022 ISPE Annual Meeting & Expo on Tuesday, 1 November.

Learn More

ISPE is governed by an elected board of directors. The board is composed of fifteen elected members and the CEO & President, who serves as a non-voting ex-officio member. Directors are elected to a two-year term and can serve up to two terms consecutively. All terms commence at Annual Meeting. The officer positions are Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer, Secretary, Past Chair and the President as a non-voting ex officio member. Terms for officers are one year and the Secretary is the first officer position in the typical officer succession. Each candidate for secretary is typically making a five-year commitment to serve in the roles of Secretary through Past Chair. During the September 2016 meeting of the ISPE International Board of Directors, two important modifications were incorporated into the ISPE Bylaws. The Board approved the appointment of a Director level position to the Board and the current Chair of the International Emerging Leaders Committee will be invited to board meetings as an ex-officio (non-voting) member as well. The main objective of these appointments was to ensure that ISPE has the appropriate diversity within the Board to execute business strategies as defined in our ISPE Strategic Plan. For additional information on the actions from the last Board meeting or access to governance actions visit the Governance Documents FAQs page.