iSpeak Blog

New Board Chair and Honor Awards Announced at the 2023 ISPE Annual Meeting & Expo

Marcy Sanford
New Board Chair: Scott Billman

During the 2023 ISPE Membership Meeting and Awards Lunch, Michael Rutherford, the outgoing Chair of the 2022-2023 ISPE International Board of Directors, officially handed over the gavel to Scott Billman. As the new Chair for the 2023-2024 term, Scott Billman, Vice President, Engineering, Pharmaceutical Services, Thermo Fisher Scientific, will lead the board. Rutherford expressed his gratitude to the outgoing board members Jörg Zimmermann, Vice President Vetter Development Service, External Affairs, Vetter Pharma Fertigung GmbH & Co KG and Zen-Zen Yen, Head of Engineering, Bayer AG, for their outstanding service and dedication, as their terms have come to a close. Additionally, the highly esteemed 2023 ISPE International Honor Award recipients were announced during this event.

The Year in Review

Saying that ISPE was in a strong position for growth, Rutherford gave an overview of ISPE’s accomplishments in 2023 which include a refreshed website that allows members to more easily access their benefits, increased engagement with emerging leaders, the formation of a new student and recent graduate grant program, the implementation of the 2023-2025 Strategic Plan, and continued execution of One ISPE. “The goal of One ISPE is to make sure that we are connecting with all the affiliates and chapters. In 2023 we added our fortieth chapter – the Southwest Chapter, who are hosting this event.”

Shaping the Future of the Pharmaceutical Industry

Thomas Hartman, President and CEO of ISPE, welcomed attendees to the Membership Meeting and spoke about the ways ISPE members are helping to shape the future of the pharmaceutical industry adding, “All of our accomplishments are thanks to you.”

“ISPE membership has increased nearly 30% from mid-2020. ISPE now has more than 21,000 members in over 120 countries and our goal is to have 25,000 by 2025. This year we increased the number of communities of practice (CoPs) from 19 to 22 and we have plans to create an additional three focusing on AI, sustainability, and pharma compounding. We have increased the number of guidance documents we publish. Conference attendance is increasing in numbers when compared to pre-pandemic levels. We have a very active, productive, and industry-relevant regulatory steering council. It is all thanks to you, our subject matter experts. You are the lifeblood of ISPE.”

Jeffrey A. Biskup, PE, ISPE International Board of Directors, Treasurer, 2022-2023, Executive Board Chairman/Co-Founder, CRB, presented ISPE’s financial report and Antonio Moreira, ISPE Foundation Board Chair and Vice Provost, Academic Affairs, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, gave an update on the ISPE Foundation.

Billman introduced the 2023-2024 ISPE International Board of Directors and presented ISPE’s goals for 2024, “Looking ahead we want to engage more students and emerging leaders, expand our global reach through engagement and inclusion, continue to drive technical innovation through CoPs, and continue to have more interaction with global regulatory experts. We are committed to continue to evolve and grow ISPE, to deliver value to our members, and celebrate the successes of our industry.”

2023-2024 International Board of Directors


Scott W. Billman
Vice President of Global Engineering, Real Estate, and Facilities
Jeffrey A. Biskup, PE
Executive Board Chairman/Co-Founder
Vice Chair
Vivianne J. Arencibia
Vice President, Global Quality Systems and Compliance
Ylva Ek
Robur Life Science Advisory AB
Michael L. Rutherford
Retired, Computer Systems Quality & Data Integrity
Immediate Past Chair
Thomas B. Hartman
President and CEO
Ex Officio Non-voting Member


Nina S. Cauchon, PhD
Director Regulatory Affairs - CMC
Amgen Inc.
David Churchward
Head of Operations Quality, Compliance and External Affairs
Liz M. Dooley, MSc
Senior Director, Global Engineering & Technology
Johnson & Johnson
Norman A. Goldschmidt
Genesis AEC
Sarah C. Pope Miksinski, PhD
Executive Director, CMC Regulatory Affairs
Gilead Sciences, Inc.
Teresa Minero
Founder & CEO
LifeBee - Digitalizing Life Sciences
Georg Singewald, PhD
SVP, Global Head of Engineering, Technology & Sustainability
Roche / Genentech
Hirofumi Suzuki, PhD
Product Supply Japan, Head of Product Supply Coordination
Bayer Yakuhin Ltd.
Timothy J.N. Watson, PhD
Vice President – Head of CMC Regulatory Affairs
Gilead Sciences

Ex Officio

Monique L. Sprueill, PMP
Director, GCP Quality Lead
Bristol Myers Squibb
Emerging Leader Representative (Non-voting)

ISPE International Honor Awards

The ISPE International Honor Awards provide the opportunity for all of us to recognize and celebrate the dedicated professionals who are volunteering countless hours to support ISPE in its mission. hartman, Rutherford, and Billman distributed the 2023 ISPE International Honor Awards to the following recipients:

2022 PE Roger F. Sherwood Article of the Year Award


(awarded for content published during the previous calendar year)

Supporting Cell and Gene Therapy through Multimodal and Flexible Facilities,” (November/December 2022) by Stephen Judd and William G. Whitford.

2023 ISPE International Emerging Leader Hackathon Winning Team

Hackathon Winners

Hack O’ Latern

2023 Company of the Year Award



2023 ISPE Affiliate & Chapter Excellence Award

Ireland affiliate

Ireland Affiliate

2023 ISPE Committee of the Year Award

CoP of the year

Advancing Pharmaceutical Quality (APQ) Initiative Team

2023 ISPE Max Seales Yonker Member of the Year Award

Diane L. Hustead

Diane L. Hustead
Executive Director, Regulatory Affairs
Merck & Co Inc.

2023 ISPE Richard B. Purdy Distinguished Achievement Award

Lorrie L. Vuolo-Schuessler GAMP Americas Steering Committee Retired GSK and Syneos Health

Lorrie L. Vuolo-Schuessler
GAMP Americas Steering Committee
Retired GSK and Syneos Health

2023 ISPE Joseph X. Phillips Professional Achievement Award

Frances M. Zipp

Frances M. Zipp
President & CEO
Lachman Consultant Services

2023 ISPE FOYA Overall Winner Award

GenentechGenentech South San Francisco Clinical Supply Center