January / February 2021

Welcome the 2020–2021 ISPE International Board of Directors

Welcome the 2020–2021 ISPE International Board of Directors

The 2020–2021 ISPE International Board of Directors began their term at the Member Meeting on 5 November during the 2020 ISPE Annual Meeting & Expo.

In her address to the membership, Joanne R. Barrick, RPh, Chair, noted that in 2021, implementation of the second year in ISPE’s current Strategic Plan will continue. “While we are changing the ‘how’ we deliver the strategic plan, the plan and our content priorities remain a solid foundation for our Society,” she emphasized. Digitization will enhance content and information availability, and Women in Pharma® and workforce development training programs will remain strong. The Society will continue to seek to expand its impact by increasing its global footprint, Barrick said, noting the recent addition of the Mexico and Eurasian Affiliates. She added that the ISPE Foundation is now poised for significant growth and will include the pursuit of initiatives targeted at increasing diversity in the pharmaceutical industry.

In addition, ISPE will continue to emphasize integration of conference, training, and guidance document offerings and place more emphasis on regulatory topic impact and activities, she said. Opportunities for more interface with the ISPE Board through conferences and participation in Chapter and Affiliate events can be expected.

2020–2021 ISPE International Board of Directors


Joanne R. Barrick, RPh
Sr. Director TS/MS Validation
Eli Lilly and Company
Jörg Zimmermann
Vice President Vetter Development Service External Affairs
Vetter Pharma Fertigung GmbH & Co KG
Vice Chair
Michael L. Rutherford
Retired, Computer Systems Quality & Data Integrity
Scott W. Billman
Vice President of Global Engineering, Real Estate, and Facilities
Frances M. Zipp
President & CEO
Lachman Consultant Services
Past Chair

Directors Elected to a Second Term

Vivianne J. Arencibia
Vice President, Global Quality Systems and Compliance
Chris Chen, PhD
WuXi Biologics (Shanghai) Co., Ltd.

New Directors

Nina S. Cauchon, PhD
Director Regulatory Affairs - CMC
Amgen Inc.
David Doleski
Head of Global Quality Audit and External Engagement
Board Appointed Director
Teresa Minero
Founder & CEO
LifeBee - Digitalizing Life Sciences
Hirofumi Suzuki, PhD
Product Supply Japan, Head of Product Supply Coordination
Bayer Yakuhin Ltd.

Continuing Board Members

The following directors were elected in 2019 to serve a two-year term and will continue their service on the Board:

Ylva Ek
Robur Life Science Advisory AB
Lou W. Kennedy
CEO and Owner
Nephron Pharmaceuticals
Stephen Mahoney
Executive Director, Head of Quality Policy and Advocacy
Gilead Sciences
Alice Redmond, PhD
Chief Strategy Officer

Young Professionals (Emerging Leaders) Representative (Ex Officio)

John Clarke
Process Lead
Board Emerging Leaders Representative (Non-voting)