International Board of Directors Elections

Elections are Closed

Meet the 2019 Candidates

The ISPE International Board of Directors 2019 Elections were opened on Tuesday, 18 June 2019 and closed on 7 August 2019.  Ballots were emailed to all ISPE Members eligible to vote. Candidates have been selected by the Nominating Committee and then approved by the Board of Directors as required in ISPE’s bylaws.

Officer Candidates

Frances M. Zipp
President & CEO
Lachman Consultant Services, Inc
Thomas B. Hartman
VP, GMP Operations
Vice Chair
Joanne R. Barrick, RPh
Advisor, Global Validation
Eli Lilly and Company
Jörg Zimmermann
Vice President/Bereichsleiter
Vetter Pharma-Fertigung GmbH & Co.

Director Candidates

Scott W. Billman
Sr. Director Global Engineering
Jeffrey A. Biskup, PE
CEO and Chairman of the Board
Paul B. Daly
CVP Global Quality Operations
Celgene Corp
Ylva Ek
Chief Quality Officer (CQO)
KeyPlants AB
Lou W. Kennedy
CEO and Owner
Nephron Pharmaceuticals
Stephen C. Mahoney, JD
Senior Director, Global Quality & Compliance
John B. Noble, PhD
Vice President & General Manager, Life Sciences
Jacobs Engineering Group Inc
Alice Redmond, PhD
Vice President, European Operations
Commissioning Agents International (CAI)
Michael L. Rutherford
Executive Director, Computer Systems Quality and Data Integrity
Syneos Health

*Current Board members who are seeking a second term.

ISPE International Board of Directors Election Process

The ISPE International Board of Directors 2019 Elections were opened on Tuesday, 18 June 2019 and closed on 7 August 2019.  Ballots were emailed to all ISPE Members eligible to vote. Members with no email on file or whose email generated an error will receive a postcard with ballot instructions.

The email contains a personal URL to access the ballot, review the nomination materials, and to cast your vote online. The personal URL can be used only once, and it can be used only by the Member to whom it was assigned.

If You Receive a Postcard

Postcards are being mailed to ISPE Members eligible to vote who did not have a valid email address listed in the ISPE Member database. Postcards are also being mailed to those Members for whom the email address on file generated an error.  Your postcard contains information on how to access the secure election site.


If you encounter an error during the voting process, please contact Keith Wier, Account Manager, Intelliscan, Inc. by phone at +1-610-935-6171 or email.

Your ballot instructions will indicate that you can vote for one person for each Officer position and five people for the Director positions. This could be either votes for candidates listed, write in votes for any other ISPE Member, or a combination.

Directors are elected to a two-year term and can serve up to two terms consecutively. The officer positions on the ballot are Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer, and Secretary. The current Chair automatically becomes Past Chair in the next year and the President serves as a non-voting ex-officio member. Terms for officers are one year and the Secretary is the first officer position in the typical officer succession. Each candidate for secretary is typically making a five-year commitment to serve in the roles of Secretary through Past Chair.

Candidates have been selected by the Nominating Committee and then approved by the Board of Directors as required in ISPE’s bylaws. The current Board of Directors and the 2019 Nominating Committee identified several skillsets and characteristics that are necessary in order to execute the upcoming refreshed Strategic Plan. Some of those identified skillsets include regulatory/compliance experience, ISPE knowledge, chapter/affiliate leadership, demonstrated strategic-focus, and global pharmaceutical manufacturing experience. The ballot reflects these necessary skills but please keep these factors in mind while voting.

View the current ISPE International Board of Directors.

Board Appointed Director Position

In 2016, ISPE Governance Documents were updated to give the Board the authority to appoint one Director position to the Board during the established election cycle. The objective is to ensure ISPE has the appropriate diversity within the Board to execute business strategies as defined in our ISPE Strategic Plan. It is not the Board’s expectation that every election cycle will require an appointed position and no appointed Director was chosen this year.

Board Members Continuing a Term in 2019-2020

The following individuals have been elected to a two-year term and will be continuing their term in 2019-2020.

James A. Breen, Jr., PE
Vice President, Lead Biologics Expansion
Janssen Pharmaceuticals
Past Chair 2019-2020
Vivianne J. Arencibia
Independent Consultant
Arencibia Quality Compliance Associates
Gunter Baumgartner
Senior Vice President, Head of Global Engineering
Takeda Pharmaceuticals International AG
Chris Chen, PhD
WuXi Biologics (Shanghai) Co., Ltd.
Christine M. V. Moore, PhD
Global Head and Executive Director, GRACS CMC Policy
Merck & Co.
Caroline Rocks, CEng
Senior Program Manager
AbbVie, Inc.

Board Members Completing Their Service

The following individuals will complete their Board service and will officially end their term at the 2019 ISPE Annual Meeting & Expo. ISPE thanks these individuals for their dedication and commitment to the organization.

Chair 2017 - 2018 and Past Chair 2018 – 2019
Antonio C. Crincoli, PE
Senior Director, Head Upjohn Global Engineering
Pfizer Inc.
Flemming Dahl
Head of Quality, Senior Vice President
Novo Nordisk A/S
Kelly M. Keen
Vice President, Head of PMO Project Management
Celonic Ag

Candidate Nomination and Selection Process

Below are the steps taken for selecting candidates to be on the ballot:

  • Each year, the global membership of ISPE are asked to provide the names of potential candidates to the ISPE Nominating Committee. Candidates are proposed on the basis of a number of considerations communicated in the call for nominations including: strategic thinking, leadership skills, “business sense,” knowledge of the global pharma / biopharma industry, and the ability to commit the time and resources required to actively participate on the Board.
  • The Nominating Committee proposes a list of potential candidates for the vacancies on the Executive Committee and the International Board of Directors. The Board approves this list before the election.
  • Approved candidates are asked to confirm their willingness to stand for the election and to demonstrate that they have the support of their employer to serve.
  • Following the receipt of this information, the balloting process is arranged using an independent outside body, Intelliscan, Inc.

Intelliscan, Inc. conducts the entire election process and reports the results to the International Board of Directors.