2019–2020 ISPE Board of Directors Election Results Announced

19 September, 2019

ISPE announced the results of its 2019–2020 International Board of Directors election, revealing a slate of strategic leaders who represent a variety of pharmaceutical industry sectors. The Board is responsible for the governance and strategic direction of the Society and will assume their elected positions at the 2019 ISPE Annual Meeting & Expo, taking place on 27–30 October 2019 in Las Vegas, Nevada USA.

The following pharmaceutical industry leaders have been elected to the 2019–2020 ISPE International Board of Directors:


Frances M. Zipp
President & CEO
Lachman Consultant Services
Tom Hartman
President & CEO
Vice Chair
Joanne R. Barrick, RPh
Advisor, Global Validation
Eli Lilly and Company
Jörg Zimmermann
Vice President, Vetter Development Service, External Affairs
Vetter Pharma-Fertigung GmbH & Co.
James A. Breen, Jr., PE
Vice President, Lead Biologics Expansion
Janssen Pharmaceuticals
Past Chair

Re-Elected Director:

Alice Redmond, PhD
Chief Strategy Officer

New Directors:

Scott W. Billman
Vice President, Engineering, Pharmaceutical Services
Thermo Fisher Scientific
Ylva Ek
Chief Quality Officer (CQO)
KeyPlants AB
Lou W. Kennedy
CEO and Owner
Nephron Pharmaceuticals
Stephen Mahoney
Executive Director, Global Quality & Compliance
Genentech, A Member of the Roche Group

Appointed Director:

Chris Chen, PhD
WuXi Biologics (Shanghai) Co., Ltd.

Continuing Board Members:

In addition to those named above, the following Directors were elected in 2018 to serve a two-year term and will continue their service on the Board:

Vivianne J. Arencibia
Independent Consultant
Arencibia Quality Compliance Associates
Gunter Baumgartner
Senior Vice President, Head of Global Engineering
Takeda Pharmaceuticals International AG
Christine M. V. Moore, PhD
Executive Director, External Advocacy & Policy
Caroline Rocks, CEng
Senior Program Manager
AbbVie, Inc.

Young Professionals Representative (Ex Officio):

LeAnna M. Pearson
Sr. Project Manager
PharmEng Technology
Board Young Professionals Representative (Non-voting)

Explore the ISPE Board of Directors webpage for complete biographical information on all of ISPE's International Board.