The IChemE Singapore Awards, supported by the Institution of Engineers Singapore, celebrate excellence, innovation and achievement in the chemical, biochemcial and process industries. 

This year’s IChemE Singapore Awards are being held on 19 October 2017.

There are seven categories available to enter at the IChemE Singapore Awards, including one new category - The Biotechnology Award. The full list of categories in Singapore are:

  • Biotechnology Award
  • Energy Award
  • Process Safety Award
  • Sustainability Award
  • Training and Development Award
  • Young Industrialist Award
  • Young Researcher Award


The winners of each category are automatically shortlisted for the IChemE Global Awards on 2 November 2017, Manchester, UK. 

The overall prize for the best entry in 2017, called the Award for Outstanding Achievement in Chemical and Process Engineering, will also be presented on 2 November 2017. 

In addition, Singapore-based entrants are eligible to apply for the following IChemE Global Awards:

  • Best Business Start-Up Award
  • Chemical Engineering Industry Project of the Year Award
  • Dhirubhai Ambani Award for Outstanding Chemical Engineering Innovation for Resource-Poor People
  • Food and Drink Award
  • Innovative Product of the Year Award
  • Oil and Gas Award
  • Research Project Award
  • Team of the Year Award 
  • Water Management and Supply Award


You can enter the Awards online and you’ll find lots of useful information and guidance to make applying as easy as possible, including Why Enter?, Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) and Entry Tips and Guidance

IESThere's also an article by chair of judges, Nigel Hirst, called 'What makes a good IChemE Award entry?'  in the March 2016 issue of The Chemical Engineer.


If you would like to sponsor or support the IChemE Awards 2017, please contact Avanna Tan at

The IChemE Singapore Awards 2017 opens for entries on Wednesday 1 March 2017 and closing date is 24:00 BST Friday 30 June 2017.

Don’t forget, IChemE is also hosting award ceremonies in Malaysia on 16 October 2017 and a Global Awards ceremony on 2 November 2017 in the UK. Full details for both events are available online.